Posted by: Jim Adcock | February 12, 2011

Progress Report

The first week of my first two blogs, Working It Out and Cooking Without A Net, was the same week, May 12-18, 2009. In those first seven days, between the two blogs, I racked up 20 page views. I had only made two posts, totalling 571 words. Of course, I was just starting out, and had a limited understanding of what I was doing.

Fast-forward to February 2011. Between the two I have 86 posts totalling 58,856 words, and 18,316 page views. And a third blog.

My first seven days of The Metablog Blog, February 2-8, were a bit more active than with the first two. Eight posts, totalling 2637 words. And 76 page views.

A little slicing and dicing before analysis:

First Week WIO/CWAN MBB
posts to views ratio 10 9.5
words to views ratio 28.55 34.69

While, in raw numbers, the Metablog’s page view score is better, on a performance basis the Metablog is a bit behind the curve – I am working harder in a relative sense as well as in the absolute sense. I wrote six more words to get every click, and each post got half a view less.

And in week two, the comparison will get worse. With Working It Out, I not only had a good idea of who my audience was going to be, but where to find that audience and how to “market” to them. The second week I made my first major post and promoted it. I finished week two with a combined 278 views, on five posts totalling 1716 words.

Just to keep up the raw page views, I’ll need another 202 views in the next week. But my goals for this blog are different from Working It Out. I intend to post every day, with shorter posts (around 300 words each). Here are the ratios for the first two weeks on 2009

First Two Weeks WIO/CWAN
posts to views ratio 55.6
words to views ratio 6.17

To get to a similar ratio here with my posting intentions, here is how many clicks I’ll need to get…

Estimate Target Ratio Total Page Views Needed
15 posts 55.6 834
4995 words 6.17 809

I know I won’t get ~760 hits in the next week, for several reasons.

First, I have structured this blog differently. On Working It Out, I have only the first paragraph or two on the first page, a teaser to get people to click through to read on. With the substantial posts I make there (average post is over 500 words, a fifth of them over 1000 words), this makes sense. Plus I have the confidence that I can hook readers on those subjects in a couple of paragraphs. Here at The Metablog Blog, most of my posts are only three or four paragraphs long anyway, and it doesn’t make sense to tease such a small amount of content with text that rivals the length of the entire article. I have less confidence that I can hook readers without resorting to the sacmmy, scummy, spammy flim-flammery that I want this blog to especially not be about. Consequently, I don’t break the articles, and with one counted page view, a reader can read nearly every blog post. (This post is an exception – it is long enough and meta enough that I felt I could break it up.)

Second, I am still working out how to promote the blog and whom to promote it to and where to find them. Given the subject matter, I’m less worried about that part of it than I am about having a catalog of material to greet potential visitors when they come. Without a specific channel to promote through, it is unlikely that I will get more hits in a week here at my new blog than I get now at my established blog.

My intended audience is anyone who wants more traffic for their blog but wants to get it in a non-scammy, non-scummy, non-spammy way. I’m starting by building on the PostADay2011 tips whenever it is appropriate to do so, but, consistent with my goals of doing it in a non-scammy, non-scummy, non-spammy way, I’m being careful to only insert myself in the conversation when I have something to contribute, and promote myself only when I am not doing it in an intrusive manner.

Any ideas where I could find a lot of people like that congregated in one place?

Jim Adcock is a SharePoint Administrator, and blogs about SharePoint at his main blog, Working It Out. He is also Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Consequently, Jim also blogs about career management. He also serves as Secretary on the Austin Software Process Improvement Network Board of Directors. He also wants to know why everyone keeps asking him about sleep…

Leave a Reply

Categories

