Posted by: Jim Adcock | February 17, 2011

Evaluating Your Blog

Here is a great post with some concrete tips for blogging:

By: Molly Campbell I began writing in my kitchen as a diversion when recovering from massive facial reconstruction surgery. I wrote to keep myself cheerful, and to entertain my friends. What began as a lark turned into a real passion, and now I am a “writer.” I have learned a few things along the way about promotion, readability, and blogging. I am happy to share what I now know: 1) If you want to blog, you must decide what your blog is “about.” … Read More

via The Happy Freelancer

Using that above post, Carolyn Holland devised a scoring method, evaluated her blog and rated her performance:

CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS EVALUATING MY BLOG QUALITY   Molly Campbell presented tips about blogging which I find are consistent with other sites I’ve researched. Her post discusses blog promotion, readability, and techniques. Using her points, I’ve evaluated my site on a score of 1-10, 10 being the best. ·         Decide what your blog is “about.” (7) My blog does not zero in on a single-topic. My blog is about writing—in any genre, on any subject … Read More

via Carolyncholland’s Weblog

I found Carolyn’s scoring method to be a bit arbitrary, but I think the idea of creating a scorecard against which to compare your performance is an excellent idea.

I’ve said it before (and I know I’ll say it again… and again… and…), I’m a stats geek. And measuring performance and figuring out based on SMART goals (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely) fits in very nicely into my Process Improvement background.

I’m going to come up with my own scoring system, and put it in a future post. If you have any suggestions for measuring against the goals set by Molly Campbell, or new goals that should have been included in the list, post them in the comments. Or, if you already have a measurement system in place, post a link to your own scorecard!

Jim Adcock is a SharePoint Administrator, and blogs about SharePoint at his main blog, Working It Out. He is also Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Consequently, Jim also blogs about career management. He also serves as Secretary on the Austin Software Process Improvement Network Board of Directors. He also wants to know why everyone keeps asking him about sleep…

Responses

  1. Thank you for noticing my blog!
    Carolyn C. Holland


Leave a Reply

Categories

