Posted by: Jim Adcock | February 22, 2011

Are You Ready?

Hey look, it’s a PostADay2011 daily prompt I can use!

Topic #54

Here’s a meta topic, which should illustrate that if you don’t know what to blog about, you can always write about how you write.

How do you decide when a post is ready to publish?

The easy answer is “When it’s done.”

When I start a post, I have a general idea of what I want to say. I’ve started with an audience, so I know who I am aiming my content towards.

What level of detail will I need to describe the topic to that audience? I try not to assume too much knowledge in the reader, but I don’t want to treat readers as if they are stupid either, so balancing specific detail with brevity is always an issue. I try to include links to basic information where I can, so that readers can click to get more information if they need to, while the flow is not interrupted for readers more familiar with the topic.

Once I have all of the information in place, I re-read the post for clarity, and make changes. Then do a spell-check and re-read the post again. Once that is done, I add the bells and whistles, if I need any – links, images, etc.

I follow that with validating categories and tags, check the publish schedule, the publicize settings, and save the draft.

One more read-through, and I hit “Schedule”.

I’ve gotten in the habit of using Schedule rather than Publish immediately, even if I am posting “right now”. It gives me a couple of minutes for second thoughts before the post goes live.

Once the post goes live, then the publicity machine goes into action. Remember that audience I identified at the beginning? I go to where the audience is, and let them know the content is here….

Jim Adcock is a SharePoint Administrator, and blogs about SharePoint at his main blog, Working It Out. He is also Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Consequently, Jim also blogs about career management. He also serves as Secretary on the Austin Software Process Improvement Network Board of Directors. He also wants to know why everyone keeps asking him about sleep…

Leave a Reply

Categories

