Posted by: Jim Adcock | May 10, 2011

Just Like Riding a Bicycle (A Mea Culpa)

During February, I was doing so well on this blog. 23 posts in 22 days. (Not to mention the 8 posts to my other blogs in the same period!) I was setting them up and knocking them down. I was UNSTOPPABLE!

Until I stopped…

Then things got busier at work, and my after-work schedule got loaded with meetings and tasks, and the few minutes I had that I could use to write got eaten away. I fell behind, and my meagre cache of completed posts got eaten up… And I fell off the (daily post) bicycle.

To an extent, daily blogging was indeed like riding a bicycle. The inertia of movement kept me upright: I would polish the skeleton of an idea from the day before and post it, and create the skeleton of the next day’s post, and maybe come up with a couple of titles for future posts.

But inertia works both ways… once I had lost my velocity, regaining it has been VERY difficult.

Recently I have begun to work on creating a catalog of completed posts, holding them to build up a reserve of material to keep things going, even when I hit a bump.

Because, just like riding a bicycle, once you fall off, it is important to climb back on and try again.

On the upside, the drop in my posts has created an interesting laboratory for my page view statistics.

The chart begins on Week 5, the first week of February. I stopped posting during Week 8, and you can see the page views drop dramatically.

Want less traffic?  Post infrequently!  Which shows content, especially new content, is in fact king.  A point I shall return to.

In the meantime, we return you to our regularly scheduled (daily, damn it!) program….

Jim Adcock is a SharePoint Administrator, and blogs about SharePoint at his main blog, Working It Out. He is also Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Consequently, Jim also blogs about career management. He also serves as Secretary on the Austin Software Process Improvement Network Board of Directors. He also wants to know why everyone keeps asking him about sleep…

Leave a Reply

Categories

