Posted by: Jim Adcock | May 16, 2011

And then there were two…

Two years ago today I started my first blog, Working It Out.

Last year I posted a look back at my first year on Working It Out. This year I am posting it here to keep meta topics off Working It Out, reserving it for posts relevant to career and SharePoint topics.

So how has my second year gone?

Last week I passed 23,000 total pageviews.

In the last year, 17,958 hits on 86 posts and pages, which means that all but two posts got a hit in the last year.  In the last 30 days, 76% of my posts and pages got at least 1 page view, a higher percentage than the last 30 days of the first year.  That is some shelf life!

Median is 77 views per page, and discounting the home page hits (which includes hits to category pages), the mean is 190 views per page. Four posts had only one hit each, and one page had over 1,300 hits (again discounting the home page).

I wrote 43 new posts during the year on Working It Out, and 26 other posts on my other blogs.  Which means I posted more in my second year than I did on my first.  Onward and upward!

Top 11 posts and Pages of the second year:

Publish an InfoPath Form to Multiple SharePoint Sites 1,351
Limiting SharePoint Workflow Due Dates to Business Days 889
Automated SharePoint Site Provisioning Solution – Act Four (…They Will Come) 888
Error: SharePoint List – Cannot Edit in Datasheet, Export to Excel, or Import Spreadsheet 746
Add a Unique Auto-Incrementing Column to a SharePoint List 745
Secrets of the Successful Jobseeker – Part 1 692
Automated SharePoint Site Provisioning Solution – Act One (The Setup) 692
Use Calculated Columns to Close Technical Gaps in SPD Workflows – Another Solution 685
It’s No Secret – Optimism In the Job Search 595
Automated SharePoint Site Provisioning Solution – Act Two (The Decision) 568
Resume of Jim Adcock 517

 

Most importantly, I had some really strong response to several posts. I talked about how it happened here, and it led to a succession of “Biggest Days Ever” – 221 views on June 29, and 469 views on October 11.

Most importantly, I’m pleased and proud to have helped so may people in so many different ways.  Thanks to everyone who has read my blog, whether you read in Year One, Year Two, or both!  Without you, this whole thing would be an exercise in futility.

Thank you, and I promise more helpful information in the coming year!

Jim Adcock is a SharePoint Administrator, and blogs about SharePoint at his main blog, Working It Out. He is also Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Consequently, Jim also blogs about career management. He also serves as Secretary on the Austin Software Process Improvement Network Board of Directors. He also wants to know why everyone keeps asking him about sleep…

Responses

  1. […] year’s status report is posted over at the Metablog Blog. It was a great year, and I have high hopes for Year […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

