Posted by: Jim Adcock | July 27, 2011

30,000

Working It Out, my blog covering my work with SharePoint and my observations about maintaining a career, hit a milestone today in a year marked by milestones.

Today I hit 30,000 total page views (though admittedly a small proportion of those page views – 881 to be exact – were generated by spammers).

Last year, my post “Publish an InfoPath Form to Multiple SharePoint Sites” passed my previous top post (“Tweaking IE 8“) and hit 1,000 page views.  So far this year, four more posts have topped 1,000 hits, and if things continue at their current pace, six more pages will join them before the end of the year.  And four of the posts in the 1K club will move up to to 2,000 before year’s end.

Joined the 1K Club This Year
Date Joined Post
June 9 Limiting SharePoint Workflow Due Dates to Business Days
June 14 Error: SharePoint List – Cannot Edit in Datasheet, Export to Excel, or Import Spreadsheet
June 28 Add a Unique Auto-Incrementing Column to a SharePoint List
July 7 Automated SharePoint Site Provisioning Solution – Act Four (…They Will Come)
Joining the 1K Club This Year
Predicted Date Post
 September 1 Tweaking IE 8
 September 9 Resume of Jim Adcock
 October 6 SharePoint Governance – Why?
 October 24 Use Calculated Columns to Close Technical Gaps in SPD Workflows – Another Solution
 October 30 Automated SharePoint Site Provisioning Solution – Act One (The Setup)
 December 12 Error: The website declined to show this webpage HTTP 403
Joining the 2K Club This Year
Predicted Date Post
 October 26 Error: SharePoint List – Cannot Edit in Datasheet, Export to Excel, or Import Spreadsheet
 November 1 Add a Unique Auto-Incrementing Column to a SharePoint List
 December 13 Publish an InfoPath Form to Multiple SharePoint Sites
 Christmas Day Limiting SharePoint Workflow Due Dates to Business Days

Beyond page views on individual posts, other milestones were passed this year.  On June 24, my total page views for 2011 surpassed my total for all of 2010.  I started my third year of blogging on May 16th, and by July 7th I had more hits in the first 53 days of year three than in all 365 days of year one. 

I expect that by August 15, my total page views for 2011 will exceed my totals for 2010 and 2009 combined.

Before Christmas, at roughly 220 days into year three, I will exceed year two’s total.

Next year, the milestones will continue to fly by.  By day 290 of year three (early March of 2012) I will have exceeded years one and two combined.

Now to work on the next post!

Jim Adcock is a SharePoint Administrator, and blogs about SharePoint at his main blog, Working It Out. He is also Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Consequently, Jim also blogs about career management. He recently served as Secretary on the Austin Software Process Improvement Network Board of Directors, but left the post to look for a mythical creature he’s heard spoken of, called “sleep”…

Responses

  1. […] Last time I posted about my success (from a statistical perspective), and next time I’m going to talk about how I achieved that success. […]

  2. […] recently bragged about the page views on my main blog, Working it Out.  I have achieved a level of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

