Posted by: Jim Adcock | August 16, 2011

The Passing Lane

I started blogging in May of 2009.  During the remainder of the year, I logged 3,909 page views on my main blog, Working It Out. 

During all of 2010, I pulled 11,355 page views.

As of today, I have as many page views in 2011 as I had in all of 2009 and 2010 combined.

(These numbers include removal of spam clicks from the counts.  With the spam clicks added, I passed the two-year total last week. The spammers have been busy this year…)

Since I last posted, there have been some adjustments to my predictions:

Joining the 1K Club This Year
Predicted Date Post
September 9
August 31
Resume of Jim Adcock
September 1 6 Tweaking IE 8
October 24 12 Use Calculated Columns to Close Technical Gaps in SPD Workflows – Another Solution
December 12
October 13
Error: The website declined to show this webpage HTTP 403
October 6 24 SharePoint Governance – Why?
October 30 26 Automated SharePoint Site Provisioning Solution – Act One (The Setup)
Joining the 2K Club This Year
Predicted Date Post
November 1
September 21
Add a Unique Auto-Incrementing Column to a SharePoint List
October 26 6 Error: SharePoint List – Cannot Edit in Datasheet, Export to Excel, or Import Spreadsheet
Christmas Day
January 22, 2012
Limiting SharePoint Workflow Due Dates to Business Days
December 13
January 25, 2012
Publish an InfoPath Form to Multiple SharePoint Sites

Also, there were three of the nine items that looked like they might join one of the clubs in 2012 that got pushed back to 2013 or later, and one that looked like 2013 that now seems to be headed for 2012.  And the first entrant into the 3,000 club looks to be the Auto-Incrementing post, much sooner than I could have possibly imagined.

Jim Adcock is a SharePoint Administrator, and blogs about SharePoint at his main blog, Working It Out. He is also Vice President of Launch Pad Job Club, an organization in Austin, Texas, whose mission is help people who have lost their jobs to get the skills they need to land their next job, and to help them cope with the interim between jobs. Consequently, Jim also blogs about career management. He recently served as Secretary on the Austin Software Process Improvement Network Board of Directors, but left the post to look for a mythical creature he’s heard rumors of, called “sleep”…

Responses

  1. So… how do you know the number of spam referrals? Even after WP have removed the names / IPs of referrers from the stats page, my number of hits remains unchanged.

    • I’m, um, a little hyper-compulsive about my stats. (Gee, whoda thunk?)

      I have a spreadsheet where I track the number of spam referrals daily. Especially on this and my cooking blog, given how few hits they get regularly, the spam clicks stand out and can very quickly swamp the real clicks (you know, the ones that represent real people who presumably derive value from my blathering).

      It isn’t something WP provides, I have to do it manually. Daily. Compulsively. Before WP clears out the referral URL so I can’t tellif it is real or fake (they have been getting quicker lately).

      Not a habit recommended for the sane. 🙂

  2. Wow. Well, I’m glad someone is prepared to do that. I think I’ll just leave my stats in airy-fairy land… although it does seem as if the spammers have been mostly leaving me alone recently.

  3. Yeah. Except for the last week or two, it has been pretty quiet on the spam front of late, and even the recent spate has only been 2-4 a day, not like the deluge in February and March.

  4. […] recently bragged about the page views on my main blog, Working it Out.  I have achieved a level of traffic I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

